Sunday 28 May beginning at 2pm
THRA has planned a free two-hour excursion to the Beaumaris Zoo site on the Queens Domain.
Please be punctual for the 2 pm. start.
The Hobart City Council had rehabilitated an old quarry site at the Queens Domain to become Hobart's new zoological facility and by the end of January 1923 the new zoo was ready to be opened. The animals were transferred from the old Beaumaris property in Battery Point, which had been run as a zoo by Mary Grant Roberts since 1895 until her death in 1921.
We will be expertly guided around the site by Brendan Lennard, Senior Cultural Heritage Officer at the Hobart City Council. Brendan will explain the history of the site and acquaint us with stories of the animals who lived there until the zoo was closed in 1937. We visit and examine the existing remnants of the buildings and archaeological remains of the original zoo and Brendan will enlighten us with the fascinating life of Mary Grant Roberts and her dedication to the animals she cared for at Battery Point.